How to Set and Accomplish Winning Content Goals for your Biz

Copy of women supporting women bp

 

I’ve learned that so much of my success as a writer and a content creator lies in my ability to set tangible goals and intentions.

 

I’m NOT going to toot my own horn because it took me a minute to get here. Before I can admit that I was walking blind!

 

Without goals I’ve learned that I’m basically working with no direction, and that makes no sense. Who wants to work just to work? NOT ME!

 

I now look at my goals on a yearly, monthly, weekly a daily basis, keeping inventory, of where I am and where I’m going. I know what I want to achieve for the year and I break it down with small monthly and weekly goals. Each day I take baby steps and accomplish small victories to get me where I want to be.

Copy of 7

And that’s how you should think of your content too.

 

I think in order for you to really attain your goals it takes focus. When I first decided to become a writer 15 years ago (OMG 15 years ago!!!) I had no idea what that looked like. In my naïve mind, I would graduate and the doors of writer heaven would open for me.

 

Well after freelancing for a number of years I realized that this is just not true if I wanted to achieve something great I had to define it. Sure I wanted to write but what did I want to achieve? What were my goals?

 

In order for you to achieve your goals, you must first set them. If you’re building a business and you have no content the very first thing you should focus on is the WHAT?

Posting

 

Focus on the WHAT…

 

What do you want to achieve with your content?

 

Different businesses have different goals.

 

Do you want to gain trust, exposure, conversation or just awareness? Depending on what your goals are that will guide your content. So if you haven’t set any then don’t be surprised if you haven’t achieved anything.

 

I’ve learned that just writing them down is a huge step that gets you closer to your destination.

 

For me, goal setting starts with careful consideration of what you want to achieve and ends with a lot of hard work to actually do it.

 

I work with a number of entrepreneurs who aren’t even able to define what success looks like to them and this baffles me.

 

Last week I met with a beautiful young entrepreneur who has been running her business for two years but is not engaging with her clients/audience on social media the way she would like to, and she was frustrated. Although she posts quite frequently her content was not hitting the mark.

 

I understood her trouble and the first thing I asked her was “what are your goals for the content you post?”

 

It’s no surprise that she couldn’t answer because looking at her pages I knew she had no goals. Everything was all over the place. So I had to lay it on her thick.

 

you are the

It comes down to this:

 

  1. Set goals and intentions for your content and be specific
  2. Be consistent and stay on track
  3. Don’t be afraid to delete

 

Setting goals for your content is such an important step to building your business. When you have goals you’re able to see where you’re going so nothing can keep you off track.

 

When I begin working with entrepreneurs one of the biggest problems we encounter is the “Delete Drama” as I’ve come to call it.

 

If you’ve posted content in the past that doesn’t fit your brand and/or goals then delete it, simple right? Many times people are so attached to their content that they have trouble deleting it.

 

I hear things like: “I really like that quote or picture,” or “that had 100 likes” and you know what I say?

 

“Who cares!!!”( they tend to hate that by the way) But seriously though who cares.

 

If the content doesn’t fit your goals or brand then it is not serving a purpose and could be doing more harm than good. So just delete it.

 

So what are your goals with your content? Here’s an exercise for you if you’re struggling with generating quality content that is aligned with your goals.

 

  1. Define what you want to achieve with your content
  2. Make an action plan (How will I get there?)
  3. Delete what doesn’t fit into your goals

 

Easy right?

 

I hope this post gave you a little bit more insight into setting goals for your content. If you need help with defining your content goals shoot me an email at lalaacomrie@gmail.com or to receive weekly content ideas and tips to creating compelling, content sign up for my weekly newsletter here.

 

What are your content goals for the month? Share them with me in the comments.

 


Leave a comment